The use of cell phones (mobile phones) has grown rapidly in the past few years. People use them for both business and personal reasons.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the widespread use of cell phones (mobile phones)?

Mobile phones have become increasingly popular over the world in the past few years, and these are widely used by people for their personal and official uses. Although wireless devices have some drawbacks among people, mobile devices have many advantages that help them to communicate effectively and learn new things in this modern era. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages of the widespread use of mobile phones.

To begin with, there are many primary benefits of using cellular phones such as effective communication from anywhere in the world and easy access to learning material via a handheld device. People, who live away from their homes, can communicate effectively using portable mobile phones easily and effectively whereas they were hardly able to contact anyone prior to the invention of mobile phones. For instance, when I was a school student and used to live in the hostel, I was not able to talk to my parents but, now we can use mobile phones to communicate with anyone. Another benefit of mobile phones is that cellphones provide a great opportunity to learn new things on cellular phones using the internet. For example, if we have a personal mobile phone then we would be able to find any information on it via the internet. Therefore, wireless phones provide the flexibility to communicate and learn.

Despite these advantages, cell phones have some disadvantages, which includes people to become less social and students waste their time playing games on mobile phones. Firstly, people become less sociable because they are glued to mobile phones rather than spending time with their family members. People used to interact more with others face to face prior to the invention of mobile phones. Secondly, students spend lots of time playing video games and using social websites on mobile phones rather than studying their academic subjects. School students, for instance, spend a huge amount of time playing games on cell phones. Thus, these are harmful to school students.

To sum up, although cell phones have certain disadvantages like less face to face interaction among people and students waste their precious studying time by using mobile phones for a long time, it has enormous positive impacts on people such as effective, portable, and easy communication. In addition to the benefits, these portable devices provide an opportunity to learn new things instantly.