These days, mobile phones and the internet are very important to the ways in which people relate to one another socially. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

The advent of the internet and the latest smartphones has massively transformed the traditional methods of communication. As a result, people are socially well-connected across the globe. This essay will argue that the advantages of this change outweigh the drawbacks by first demonstrating the world-wide social connectivity with the click of a button, followed by an analysis of how the primary disadvantage of addiction is invalid if used carefully.

The combination of the internet and electronic gadgets such as smartphones and laptops has introduced a new way for more effective and convenient interaction among people. Due to this growing trend, we are also able to bridge the long-distance communication gap, which paves the way to stronger relationships. For instance, The Times has published that there has been a significant decline in the divorce rate of the English countries during the past years because of the advent of the internet. Now long distant couples are able to better connect with each other and exchange their thoughts and ideas by using instant messaging, video and audio calls.

Despite these advantages, the compulsive use of these smart devices has often been seen among youngsters. This way, they neglect their studies and result in poor academic performance. However, this trend has been seen among those who deprived the guidance of their parents. In fact, students at Cambridge University have admitted that with the use of Whatsapp and Facebook groups, they are able to discuss complex study topics online and save their lots of travelling time and cost to set up meetings in person. Therefore, It would be completely unfair to overlook the merits of this development.

By hammering the final nail, I pen down by saying that the benefits of the internet and the smartphones in terms of personal and professional communication certainly outweigh the flawed argument that it distracts the youngsters from achieving their goals, which can certainly be dealt with the sense of responsibility and under the guidance of the elders.