Today, the high sales of consumer goods reflects the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

In this era of sales promotion broadcast, it is evident that elevated sales in household commodities represents the potential influence of fancy advertising by the companies instead of actual necessity based requirements of social order in which they are offered to sale.

I don't agree to this statement which I would like to discuss in detail in order to support my point of view. The excessive diposal of products of personal use reflects the buying power of community. It means people are striving for better standards of living for which they are making great efforts to earn more. Gone are the days when only men were considered to be the earning member of the family. Today, it can be easily witnessed in many families that the whole family is participating in providing financial support to the household. In return, the living conditions of society is getting better day by day which largely reflects in the household commodities they are using.

High sales of consumer goods also depends upon the commodity itself. If the product is vital in daily based usage then it will definitely be purchased by the consumer whether it is being advertised or not. People are educated, smart, technology friendly and fully aware of their needs and desires these days which bringing the practicality in society in general depicting the most basic fact that today if you buying something that is not beneficial for you in the long run then in the near future you'll be selling those of your things which are actually necessary for you.

Nevertheless, we cannot full ignore the griefy side of advertisements especially those includes high profile celebrities affecting the minds of youth.

Taking all the above mentioned facts into account, these advertisments should be seen as awareness packages about the products selling in the market which helps us to make up a decision easily. They introduces us to new items which we may need and we can easily make comparisons between the commodities in the basis of durability, price and easy excess.