Today we can see overconsumption of natural resources such as air, freshwater, oil and so on. The usage is increasing at a very dangerous pace and is already reaching critical levels. What are the reasons contributing to this? what should be done to minimize the effects?

There is no denying that human beings rely on natural resources in their surrounding and utilize them to cover their demands; however, the overconsumption of these resources make many people worry about the environment. With this in mind, I believe that several factors lead to this problem, two of which are as follows:

First, due to population growth, the demand for usage more resources increases. To be more specific, many statistics show the human population has been increasing dramatically, especially during recent decades, and this increased population need more resources such as water, fuel, and air to continue living. In fact, while natural resources are limited, overconsumption of them threaten their existence in our environment. In this situation, people need to learn how to control or even reduce their needs and consumption in effective ways to preserve these precious assets in the environment. These assets should be remained for next generations because their lives will extremely depend on them, as do we. For example, they can change their habits of consuming food and energy in economical ways during their lives with the aid of knowledge and technology they have access to. Therefore, given that the human population is increasing at an alarming pace, which poses a threat to natural resources, people should take proper actions to protect the environment by mitigating their consumptions.

Second, given the lack of strict rules, people don’t pay attention to the negative consequences of their extreme consumption of natural resources, resulting more depletion of resources. As is evident to anyone, when an issue can negatively the whole society or the majority of people, the government regulate laws in order to better manage the issue and prevent its possible adverse consequences. Indeed, the government should monitor people’s behaviors towards the environment and compel them to correct their consuming patterns. In addition, the government should pose some limitations to many factories. Which not only use a lot of fuel but also release a huge amount of deleterious gases into atmosphere. In this regard, it can punish them when they don’t obey the rules. As a result, the government should utilize its facilities and power to curb the overconsumption of resources by people and industries.

In conclusion, I am the opinion that natural resources are consuming extremely because of population growth and lack of severe laws to control the extreme consumption of resources by industries and people.