Some young people (14-18) tend to divide their free time to participate in several activities, such as competitive sports, piano, and dance classes. Others prefer to focus on one activity. Which one do you think is better?

There is no denying that all individuals, especially young ones, need to do activities they enjoy in their free time since, in this way, they can relieve their stress and anxiety caused by dealing with their heavy tasks and duties. With this in mind, I believe that it is more beneficial for young people aged fourteen to eighteen to do one particular activity in their free time rather than being involved in various activities. I feel this for some reasons, two of which are as follows:

First, dedicating their free time to one particular activity, young people can better manage their hectic schedule, so their essential and important tasks are not negatively affected, resulting in more satisfaction. To be more specific, due to vast advancements in many areas of knowledge and science, individuals, especially younger ones, encounter more complex and time-consuming duties, requiring them to allocate a great deal of their time and effort to address them properly. For example, students are assigned a lot of tough assignments and educational project in order to get high degrees in their education. In this situation, they have limited amount of free time to do their personal activities. If they invest their time in various activities, they don’t have enough time to be involved in homework. Leading them to fail in getting favorable results in their education. This may make them disappointed and also have negative effects on those activities they like to do. On the other hand, when they concentrate on one activity, they not only have adequate time to study and learn their educational materials, but they can also perform their desire activity in a good way , and this can give them an enjoyable feeling when they see they reach better outcomes in their necessary tasks and personal affairs.

Second, in this age of intense competition, youngsters, focusing on one specific skill or activity, are able to improve their proficiency and knowledge in that field significantly, increasing the chance of them being prosperous during their lives. To make it clear, in today’s competitive world, individuals try to achieve success in their lives as much as possible, requiring them to improve their abilities and experience considerably. In such circumstance, if youngster devote their time to one especial activity or skill, they are more likely to make progress because, in this way, they practice and learn that specific skill in much more time in comparison with participating in different activities. This helps them to be skillful in that field and make progress in their lives. For example if a young people try to learn a music instrument like piano over a long time and practice it regularly, they can teach their knowledge to others and earn money to satisfy their needs. However, when those who are involved in different activities, they are less likely to be skilled in activities they choose since they cannot learn any of them deeply due to lack of sufficient time to practice them.

In conclusion, I am the opinion that youngsters, aged fourteen to eighteen, should concentrate on one specific activity. This is because they have limited amount of time, and because they can better master and learn the activity they like to do.