Some people believe that it is important to follow traditions even when those traditions conflict with or are quite different from their own individual preferences. Other people believe that individual preferences are more important than traditions. Which view do you agree with and why?

There is no denying that in each society, there are different norms and rules people should consider to better live there. In this regard, some think traditional and ancient beliefs are actually rules that people need to obey, regardless of their interests and penchants( even though they contradict their interests), while I disagree, believing that people’s preferences should take priority over traditions for some reasons, two of which are as follows:

First, if people follow traditions not aligned with their interests, their emotions and efficiency will negatively be affected. From psychological perspective, individuals need to do activities they are interested in because in this way, they will be more involved in them, leading them to achieve favorable outcomes during their lives. By contrast, when they are compelled to do what they don’t believe in, their productivity will decrease, and they will be exhausted. In fact, if people living in this age ignore their interests and do what ancient people believed in, they realize these traditions cannot respond to their demands and goals appropriately, making them feel disappointed and depressed. For example my grandmother was so eager to learn and play piano when she was a young girl, but her father didn’t allow her to do so since it was not acceptable for women to play a musical instrument in their society. Although she could have done it without her father’s permission, she didn’t like to do it in a way opposite to the traditions of that period of time. She still regrets and thinks had she learned piano, she would be happier and more successful.

Second, traditional ways are obsolete and not suitable for today’s issues, so people should pay attention to their own solutions and preferences. To make it clear, due to vast advancements developed quickly in today’s world, people encounter more complex problems than they did in the past, requiring them to find useful ways so as to deal with them properly. In this situation, ancient ways are not practical and cannot be applied to today’s matters. For instance, given the current economic situation, meaning that the costs of living is rising at an alarming pace, both men and women need to work long hours to cover their needs; however, women were not allowed to work and earn money on their own in the past. They completely depended on men and were required to do just chores affairs at home. This example indicates people cannot rely on traditions in today’s modern world where issues are different from ones ancient people experienced during their lives.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that people should attach more importance to their interests in comparison with traditions. This is because they can better not only achieve prominent results but also tackle their obstacles.