Topic: For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill be made as a fourth skill to be added to the list. To what extent do you agree?

Sample answer: 391 words

Reading, writing and mathematics have always been essential components of the curriculum in many schools; however, with the invention of computers it is gradually argued that computer literacy should be part and parcel of any school’s syllabus. In my opinion, while reading, writing and maths are undoubtedly important for students’ education, the ability to use the computer appropriately is also a crucial skill that should be learned and honed throughout schools.

Schools should teach students to comprehend the content of different texts, compose an effective piece of writing and carry out mathematical operations, such as subtractions and additions in order to enable them to respond successfully to the demands of daily life in and out of school. For example, in school setting, students need these skills to carry out different assignments and answer exam questions. further, among the skills needed to lead an easy life outside school are the abilities to write a letter, read a newspaper or count money successfully to name but a few. Therefore, reading, writing and mathematics will probably remain inextricable components of study programmes at schools all over the globe.

In addition to being able to read, write and do mathematical operations skillfully, knowing how to use the computer effectively is a vital skill that every school curriculum should include for a couple of reasons. First, computers can facilitate education; computers are being used for online study in many schools throughout the world. For instance, in the United States, many schools have introduced online study programmes for students through which they can work in group or in pairs and get instant peer and teacher feedback on their work. Second, being able to use computers effectively will immensely benefit students in their future careers. In a more and more computerized world, many jobs nowadays require workers to be computer-literate. Thus educated people who do not master computer skills will be less likely to secure a job that lives up to their expectations. For these reasons, computer literacy should be added to the curriculum.

Should schools think seriously about including computer literacy in their programmes? In my opinion, the ability to use a computer skillfully is an extremely important skill that not only allows students to study effectively, but also furnishes them with ample opportunities to have the jobs the aspire to in an increasingly computerized job market.