For centuries, important parts of education have remained such as reading, writing and maths. With the advent of computers, some people think that computer skill should be made a fourth skill to be added to the list.

To what extent do you agree?

Computers play an important role in society, because people have integrated them into all aspects of life. Therefore, some teachers suggest adding computer courses into education program. This essay agrees with their viewpoint.

Let us start with reasons why some teachers say that students should study computer literacy at school. The first reason is that most employers require applicants to know how to work with computer technology. Almost every job offer include computer knowledge as compulsory, so people should acquire this skill at college. Another reason is that computers usually help employees do calculation faster. Many occupations, such as accountants and engineers, often need to compile statistics by calculating large figures through complicated formulas. Furthermore, computers can facilitate the exchange of information with colleagues. Co-workers usually maintain communication with each other and clients, once they either finish their parts of work or complete an order.

However, some social workers state that computer skills are redundant in the educational program. They justify their opinion by the following arguments. Firstly, computers are becoming outdated. New technologies, such as tablets and smartphones, are replacing computers in many organizations, since they are compact and easy in operation. Secondly, students can master this skill extra-curriculum activity. Many people encounter computers everywhere, as this technology can be found in nearly all companies and homes, so children can learn to operate it on their own. Finally, courses on computers may overload school-curriculum. Students would be overstressed in class if college principals decided to add it in the syllabus, because it is full of difficult subjects to study.

In conclusion, although some social workers argue that schools should not include computer classes, I think that people should acquire skills in modern technologies, including computers and the Internet.