The TV and the internet provide opportunity to ordinary people to become famous. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Advances in the telecommunication industry have transformed the ways in which people communicate with each other. Nowadays, satellite television and the internet render ample opportunities to individual to become well known. This essay agrees that this trend is a positive advancement as it acts as a neutral platform for people to demonstrate their talent and also the performers can reach to millions of people at the touch of a button.

To embark with, broadcasting shows over the internet or satellite television networks provide an unbiased platform for performers to showcase their talent. For instance, anyone can participate in a talent hunt competition such as the American Idol or can start their own channel on the social networking sites without needing help from the influential individuals of the community and can receive global recognition solely with their talent. Thus, satellite communication systems have increased the chances of common individuals to get worldwide fame.

In addition to this, the internet and other digital broadcasting services such as You Tube remove the geographical barrier which boosts the popularity of talented individuals. For example, thirty years ago, a performer has to travel to distant places to be able to gain fame; however, today a stand-up comedian from India can reach up to its audience sitting in the American continent at the touch of a button. Hence, technology has brought the entertainers and the audience together from different parts of the world.

In conclusion, communication breakthroughs have made it easier for the entertainers to connect with their audience from numerous geographical regions, and since the television and the internet provide fair chances to everyone to become celebrities, this is a positive development for sure.