The TV and the internet provide opportunity to ordinary people to become famous. Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, a regular person can become recognized overnight due to the influence of the online community and TV media. It is believed by some that this trend could bring positive impacts, at the same time, however, there is a body of opinion which holds that this tendency could be detrimental. In this essay, I will exam both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, there is no doubt that this development will offer citizens extra amusements in their life, because more individuals are encouraged to show their talent publicly. In addition, it also provides common people chances to make decent income, according to the recent research the average income of a popular online host is 25% higher than a manager who works in a traditional office. Moreover, the internet and media industries will be boosted, as they have been attracting mounting attention from the audiences, which brings significant advertisement revenue.

On the other hand, this trend would demotivate students from obtaining academic achievements , because they are misled to believe that it is easier to become a cyber celebrity through internet and TV , therefore losing interests in attending higher education. Also, a sense of unfair treatment and resentfulness will occur among the public when more and more ordinary members become celebrated, for example, in china, audiences are extremely critical towards people who become acknowledged through TV programs such as Talent Show, consequently, negative public opinions sometime could severely harm those people’s life.

To summarize, there is no doubt that this development is beneficial to entertain the public and it also improves some people’s financial situation. At the same time, however, it also generates negative consequences on students and society . In the final analysis, therefore, we can only conclude that it could be a positive trend once schools and the government gives the proper guidance.