Computers are becoming an essential part of school lessons.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages.

With the advancements in technology, it has started to play a more central role in our lives whether personally or professionally. Smart classes are becoming increasingly popular in numerous schools of the world. This essay will highlight two main benefits and drawbacks of this trend.

To begin with the positives, one significant advantage of using computer inside a classroom is that it enables learners to comprehend a topic thoroughly. For instance, if students can see the visuals of an internal combustion engine in action during a lesson, they can understand its working more efficiently which would otherwise may be a difficult topic to grasp in the absence of audio-visual clues. In addition to this, using technology in the classrooms makes the learning process a fun activity for pupils. Since they get easily bored of factual books, looking at illustrations and video clips help them to break the monotony of traditional teaching methods and help them to learn new subjects in an interactive way.

On the other hand, there are some drawbacks associated with the increased use of technology in schools. First of all, constantly looking at laptops and personal computers can cause illnesses like dry eyes or may weaken the eye sight of the students. Secondly, technology might help a student to learn a subject in a fun way, but it does not have the ability to answer any question which arises in a learner’s mind. For example, a projector playing a video clip in the classroom cannot respond to any questions that arise in a learner’s mind.

To conclude, while technology makes the learning process more interactive and interesting, certain demerits such as the possibility of getting health illnesses or inability to respond to pupil’s doubts cannot be undermined.