Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant’s past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree

It is standard practice under British and Australian laws to withhold an accused’s criminal records from the jury, for his or her protection. Some lawyers have kicked against this and opined that all facts about the defendant should be known before a case is decided. In my opinion, the traditional practice should be upheld for the reasons explained in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, access to details of previous conviction creates a negative bias towards the defendant. In other words, there is the tendency for the jury to have a wrong perception about someone, based on vices in the past , before considering the facts of the current case objectively. This could lead to wrong judgement on repentant criminals, even when they might be innocent. For example, two brothers who had done time in the United states, were wrongly jailed for a murder in 1985, a modern DNA testing done in 2018 absorbed them of complicity in the killings. During review of their case files, it was noted that their record influenced their indictment.

Another reason for the current practice to be upheld, is that it reduces the need for additional court time. Having to go through the details of an accused’s past would certainly lead to a longer justice process which ultimately increases cost of justice. The process and approvals needed to view criminal records in the United States take roughly two weeks, with the reviewers incurring costs offset by the justice system.

To sum up, all defendants with police records should be given a benefit of doubt and not subjected to scrutiny for past offences . I also think that lie detector tests should be administered on them during court hearings to give credence to their pleas.