Violence in society increases when more violence is shown on television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ade-Akin:

It is believed that there is increased violence in the society when television programmes contain high volumes of violence. i completely agree with this view because we are very likely to behave like what we see very often. This essay will discuss reasons for my view in more detail.

To begin with, the television influences our lives these days because we spend majority of our time watching it. When there is an increased broadcast of graphic and chaotic nature it robs off on viewers. For example, many serial killers confessed they got insights for their crimes from video games which taught them gun use and modern warfare. Therefore, people are more likely to take to crime and voilence from constantly seeing it on the television.

Another reason the television encourages violence is the justification of wars and conflicts to solve world conflicts. it is now common to see videos of war exploits, starving and killing of enemy forces on the televsion which encourages some viewers to apply these violent means to solve issues at work, school or homes. For example, the coverage of islamic terrorist attacks has led to increase in islamophobia in the western world that have led to attack on innocent muslims. In essence, coverage of war activities have resulted in reprisal attacks people from enemy countries.

In conclusion, the amount of violent content on the television influences people negatively to take to violence. There is need to reduce violence shown on air to discourage people from exhibiting violent tendencies