Universities should accept equal numbers of men and women in every subject.

To what extent do you agree with this statement?

You should write at least 250 words.

Population of men and women are almost same. Moreover, men and women can compete each other in all respects. Many people believe to have equal men and women ratio in university in all courses whereas few people oppose this notion. I will scrutinize both aspects in my further paragraphs before forming any opinion at the end.

On one side of the coin, male and female are competence enough to compete each other in every sector. Although physical strength of men is more, women are no less in having techniques and mental abilities. There are many benefits if male-female ratio is same in academic courses. For instance, in developing country males get more preference in all aspects such as academic, jobs and sports which is not good for development of a country. Because women are part of society and they equally contribute towards the economic and social growth of the nations. Depriving girls from education, actually pulling the growth rate of the state. Moreover, women can do better than man in courses like doctor, arts and design as it involves more patience and perseverance. There is no doubt that patience level of females are more.

On the other side of the coin, seats in university must be allocated based on merits. Reserving 50% for girls makes no sense. A capable candidate should be given first priority irrespective of gender. If girls are eligible enough to capture all university seat, then let it be. Reservation creates division in a society rather than providing opportunity.

To recapitulate, male-female ratio should be equal where girls receive less opportunity. However, if, in a particular nation, there is no disparity among males and females in every sectors then equal seats for men and women in university is not all a good idea.