The use of cell phones (mobiles phones) has grown rapidly in the past few years. People use them for both business and personal reasons.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of the widespread use of cell phones (mobile phones)? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

People nowadays use cell phones in many different ways other than making a call. With technology, cell phones have brought positive effects on our lives, but also it is inevitable that they have negative impacts. Cell phones contribute on education in a positive way, but they also cause people to be addicted to cell phones. This essay will discuss both advantages and disadvantages of cell phones.

With help of cell phones and the technology, students get benefits when they are learning. For instance, students now do not need to carry the huge dictionary to look for the meaning of a word. Instead, they just bring their cell phones and type the word they are looking for in mobile dictionary. This revolution in education also include remote lectures using cell phones. In Korea, so-called cyber college offers online lectures for the people who do not have time to attend the real class. So the students can watch the lectures with their mobile phones anytime and anywhere. In this sense, cell phones help students’ academic improvement and even reduce education unfairness for those who cannot get proper education due to long distance.

However, cell phones can be the tool that people hardly get out of. Some people get addicted to cell phones since they are convenient and easy to use. Especially, introduction of social media causes more people to get captured by cell phones, which is phenomenal. For instance, one of the statistic results from University of Toronto shows the more a person spending time on social media, the less likely he or she has good social relationship in person. In my case, I used to be addicted to using cell phones and I had to set the notification in my phone that says how much time I spent on cell phones during the day.

In conclusion, as more people use cell phones other than making phone calls, there are positive effects and negative effects on using them. Cell phone itself can be a great educational tool and can be an addiction to some people. If we use them wisely, would it be more beneficial to our lives?