Using a computer every day can have more negative than positive effects on children. Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is no longer new news that we live in a computerized and internet controlled society. Nowadays, everyone; young and old, child and adult are exposed to computers on a daily basis and this can affect us; especially our children both positively and negatively.

First, looking on the brighter idea, daily usage of these gadgets by younger individuals develops their thinking skills such as in arithmetics, problem solving to mention but a few. Also, it ensures they are fully informed on the happenings in our society, for example, who the current president is, when the latest space rocket was launched and many more. In all, our children are updated everyday on issues in our society and the world at large.

However, constant use of computers also pose a problem especially in the moral and mental aspect of our kids. Current studies have shown that children who are frequently in contact with this wonderful menace become disobedient individuals, exhibiting aggressive and violent behaviours. This is also linked to what they do and watch on their computers with no parental or adult guidance and control.

I am of the opinion that everyday use of computers by our children causes more harm than good. For instance, the bright lights emanating from the screen affects the eyes of our young ones predisposing them to early visual defects and in some cases, actually causing health issues like visual accommodation amongst others. We do not want to have a younger generation with bad eye sight, or do we?.

In conclusion, while the world is changing, we want to change alongside with it but positively. Computers are helpful to the upcoming youngsters however, it's usage can be curtailed, monitored and supervised.