Walking is known to be beneficial for health yet fewer and fewer people are walking these days What are the reasons for this What can be done to address this problem

The best way to live a healthy life is to walk daily. But due to a sedentary lifestyle, not many people walk in their daily routine. Brisk walking plays important role in maintaining our weight, and it also helps us to remain active throughout the day.

There could be several reasons for it. Because of tremendous work pressure in the office and long office working hours, people do not get spare time to jog or walk in the park. Also, people get comfortable with their lazy lifestyle, and they are not aware of the consequences of living an unhealthy life. This in turn eventually leads to illness like overweight and constipation. One more reason could be the modern ways to become fit, in which people are attracted to gyms and fitness centers. No doubt, these training institutes are giving the best class services, but walking will remains the core of the daily workout.

There are numerous ways by which everybody can initiate a 1-hour walk daily. Put some effort to get up early in the morning and jog for 15 minutes in the park, and then increase it every day by 5 minutes. This will give you the motivation and feeling of being competitive with yourself. If you don’t have enough time for walking, one can try different things to work out like take your office calls by roaming around in the house. If you have stairs in your house, you can set a timer and move up and down during the breaks.

In the end, everybody should make efforts towards building a healthy lifestyle by walking every day without any excuses. ”Walk and talk” should be the long term goal of our lives.