We are becoming increasingly dependent on computer technology. It is used in business, crime detection and even to fly planes. What will it be used for in future? Is this dependence on technology a good thing or should we be suspicious of its benefits?

As we move into the twenty-first century, it is clear that we become more and more dependent on computer and information technology. This technology has permeated every area of our lives and it is easy to predict that the phenomenon will only grow. My personal belief is that this represents varies dangers.

It is highly likely that in the future there will be comparatively less aspect of our lives that will not be affected by computer technology. The probability is that it will control more and more forms of communication, transforming fields such as education and business when video conferencing technologies become more stable. In the future, teachers can broadcast their classes using live streaming services. Thousands of students will have the access to high quality education with the help of technologies. The technology might change the way we communicate to clients. Big corporations such as Salesforce are already developing a software that studies the tone of the clients sentences and signal the salesman whether the customer is interested in the product.

While the development has some benefits, there are also a number of potential dangers. Perhaps the most serious of these would be that if people rely on computers for communication too often, they would in effect communicate less well. Before the internet, people meet would talk face to face in cafes, theaters, or parks whereas today people often stay at home, chatting online. This could cause serious problems since chatting online is a poor substitute for real conversation. Computer screens do not convey subtle changes in facial expressions or the mood of speakers. Exposing to this type of communication can make one unsociable in face-to-face situations.

My conclusion is that the growth of computer technology is inevitable, but that this may not be entirely positive.