Weddings are more expensive in many countries in comparison to the past. What is the reason behind this? Is this a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, there is an increasing tendency of overspending in weddings. When compared to earlier generations, wedding ceremonies were much simpler and economical. I believe that this is a totally negative development and has many unpleasant effects on marriage generally.

The main reason behind this inflation in wedding expenditures is introducing many new costly “extras” in wedding party which were not considered in the past. To illustrate, wedding planners, lighting system, rich buffet and multi-tier wedding cake, expensive decorations that embellish hall entrance, wedding stages and tables’ centerpieces with large amounts of flowers. Additionally, the introduction of more fashionable groom tuxedos and bride gowns that are considerably expensive compared with similar one in the past. All these factors have contributed to other costs that led to such increase in weddings’ expenses.

This unprecedented exaggeration in wedding cost has led to many negative consequences. Firstly, it over burden the newly married couple with unnecessary expenses while they might be already in debt to cover marriage requirements. If weddings were less expensive like former generations, couple would efficiently use this extra money to pay any pending installment or even use it to travel or start a new project to help them improve their income. Secondly, the increased demand on wedding accessories used for decoration, buffet and costumes has led to continuous increase in its market value which has become in some cases over budget for those who want to make simple wedding like in the past.

To sum up, the extra ornaments introduced to various details in wedding ceremony are the key contributors in making it increasingly expensive when compared to the past. Such increase has led to unfavorable outcomes on recently married couples and has inflated the market price of traditional wedding requirements.