Modern technology plays an important role in preventing and solving crimes.

Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays we are living an unprecedented advanced technological era. This continuous development of inventions has made significant decline in the rate of crimes worldwide and has helped a lot in the field of crime solving.

To begin with, the improvement of video recording technologies has helped in explaining many crimes that were formerly a kind of mystery. For example, CCTV that is covering the majority of neighborhoods in big cities like London, Paris and New York is an important tool for police to check all the details of crime scenes and find the cause of incidents. Moreover, most people are carrying smart phones that has video recording option which they often use to record incidents like thefts and kidnapping and share it on different social networks to follow the offenders and present them to justice. Thus, these advanced technological options have helped detectors to recognize criminals easier and give clear testimonials to condemn them.

Another important role for modern technology is the development of laboratories that analyze evidences collected from crime scenes. DNA, for instance, has done a shift in the field of recognizing if the suspected people is innocent or not. Many rape accidents were prevented thanks to this technology that ensured that rappers will be definitely caught based on his DNA test result. On the other hand, some people might say that this technological advancement is a double-edged sword claiming that there is a significant increase in digital crimes like bank account hacking, however, this could be refuted that hacking is a very advanced skill and needs professional software programmers to reach this level of skill which is still considered minorities.

To sum up, although modern technology has produced malicious applications, the role it has played in terrifying many criminals who know that they might get video recorded or can be detected through DNA analysis is a discovery which saved humanity from such violent crimes.