What are the advantages and disadvantages of leaving your country to live or study abroad?

These days, it is becoming increasingly popular to move to another country to live or study. However, some sociologists claim that this trend not only has a great deal of advantages but also many disadvantages. In this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of moving to another country and offer my point of view.

Let us start by looking at the benefits of relocating to another country. One of its main positives is a higher salary. Take the USA for example. The majority of people decide to relocate to the USA because they are offered a higher salary in the same job than that of their home country. As a result, if they move to that English-speaking country, they can afford more things such as a house, a car and packaged holidays abroad. Another advantage of relocation to another country is an excellent opportunity to get a better education. Many students choose to study abroad since they get a degree at university with better reputation. As a consequence, when they graduate from university and return home with a degree and good knowledge of foreign languages , they may apply for a well-paid job in an international company.

On the other hand, immigration has plenty of disadvantages. First of all, it often results in homesickness. Most students, who study overseas, are willing to return to their motherland since they miss their relatives and friends. Therefore, if they fail to cope with this problem, they are more likely to come back to home country and miss out the opportunity for a move valuable degree. Secondly, immigrants usually face language barriers. What I mean by this is that once they move to a different country, they tend to encounter linguistic problems, which may cause misunderstanding at work and in daily life until they become fluent in the host language. However, it normally takes much time, effort and patience.

All things considered, even though there are a lot of problems relating to immigration, I think that above-mentioned benefits easily overweigh.