In what ways has information technology changed work and working practices in the past 10 years?

Information technology has played a major role in changing the working style of people over a decade. Information technology has transformed the working practices in every domain by many different ways that will be discussed now.

Firstly, technology has made people’s work life much easier and convenient. For example, most of the IT companies have their offices all over the world. So people can work from any location and be connected to others with the help of emails and online communication. People can also work from home that saves a lot of time and increases efficiency. Moreover, people can have face to face conversations with their colleagues at other locations using video conferencing.

Furthermore, technology also increases the human productivity. There are various tasks in companies that are difficult to handle manually. For instance, in IT companies, there is a huge amount of office related data that needs to be maintained. It requires a lot of manual effort and is also susceptible to errors. But with the help of information technology, we are capable of handling data in large databases. Hence, it can be said that, technology not only makes work effortless but also reduces the risk of human errors.

To conclude, we can say that information technology has made a vast change in the working area. Technology makes people’s life more comfortable and efficient. Having said that, it is also essential to make the positive use of technology lest it can also have negative effects on humans’ mental and physical health.