In what ways has information technology changed work and working practices in the past 10 years?"

During the past few years, information technology has totally transformed the style of working.

Technology has become the essential part of people’s work life in many positive ways. But it can also have some negative effects.

Primarily, with the advancement of technology, the manual work is almost diminished. Several applications have been created that can solve work related problems in a fraction of seconds. Moreover, the usage of internet and online applications helps you connect with the whole world. Nowadays, various multinational companies are running not only from one place, but from different countries all around the world. With the help of conferrence calls on projectors, employees can have face to face meetings from anywhere.

Furthermore, technology has increased the online communication that makes people to work with more ease. People can access emails from their laptops or mobile phones. In case of urgency, we can easily inform others with the help of emails or other online messengers.

Admittedly, if technology has provided comfort and easy communication in work, it has also made people more inactive with laid back attitude. People have lost stamina of doing manual work as they have become accustomed to easy and fast life. People have become completely reliable on technology for work.

To conclude, information technology has changed the working practices in many positive ways. However, people should not be totally dependant on technology as this can hamper their physical health. So, it can be said that, technology has made our life much more easier than before, but we should also put some restraint on its usage.