When families have a meal together it is considered social activity. Do you think eating together is important to people in your country?

There is a controversial issue about the importance of family dining. In Kazakhstan, some grandparents state that it enables to strengthen family ties, while some economists claim that it has become an outdated tradition. In this essay, I will consider both points of view as well as agree with the idea of significance of eating in the family circle.

Let us start with reasons why some grandparents argue that family meals play an important role in developing a strong relationship. The first reason is that it usually helps to smooth quarrels in households. Many family members stop talking to each other for a long because of disagreements, but with the help of family dining, they can restore a close connection. Another reason is that growing members of family learn both traditions and customs on such occasions. Many older members of family can pass the culture to the juniors sitting around the table. As a result, their national entity continues from generation to generation.

However, some economists believe that this kind of family gatherings no longer carry any significance. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, eating together with family is highly wasteful. Many families spend much money on seemingly family-strengthening occasions, which create large holes in the budget, but it would be better to avoid such expenditure on these occasions. Secondly, globalization is gradually eliminating the need of family dining. Global culture are successfully replacing different traditions with its common ones. Therefore, eating together is becoming less essential and influential as a tool of cultural exchange.

In conclusion, even though some economists advocate that home gatherings around the table are becoming unimportant, I think that they still keep its vital role in reinforcing family bonds for the above mentioned reasons.