Today, majority of children are raised by their grandparents. To what extent do you think it affects the whole family?

There is a controversial issue about the impact that grandparents cause by nurturing children on the household. Some social workers state that it is unfavorable for the household, while some politicians claim that it is beneficial. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of positive effects.

Let us start with reasons why some social workers advocate that it is desirable for kids to be raised by grandparents. The first reason is that the help of grandparents usually helps couples to build career. Many young parents cannot build a career, since they are engaged in parenting, but retired members of family can take a responsibility for upbringing, which enables them to succeed at work. Another reason is that granddads frequently teach youngsters better than biological parents. The elderly have more experience than the other relatives, so they can share both invaluable wisdom and advice with growing generations. Therefore, it is reasonable to say that child caring by grandparents is a desirable trend.

However, some politicians propagate that it is unfavorable for children to be nurtured by grandparents. They justify their opinion with the following reasons. Firstly, they cannot teach children modern lifestyle. Many older people are unaware of contemporary trends, which are important for youngsters to master, so they cannot fully replace parents in development. Secondly, they are usually not able to care for children. Many grandmothers are unable to nurture offsprings, since they are both too old as well as physically incapable, so they cannot entirely substitute parents, no matter how eager they want. As a result, it is rational to say that upbringing by the elderly is a negative tendency.

In conclusion, even though some social workers believe that it causes an adverse impact on the family, if grandfathers care for young family participants, I think that it is advantageous for all members of family for the above mentioned reasons.