While recruiting a new employee, the employer should pay more attention to their personal qualities, rather than qualifications and experience. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give your opinion and include relevant examples.

The importance of the recruitment process cannot be underestimated. Whereas some believe that employers should search for people with a particular qualification and experience, others hold the view that potential candidates personality should be considered. I believe that qualification and skill are essential when hiring a candidate in many industries where some sectors may need people with good personality.

To start with, even though people with good character are essential for building a successful team, without experience and required qualification they have a little prospect of survival in their new companies. The reason for this, it would not be rational to hire a person for accounting position without prior experience and academic degree, despite the candidate's bubbly personality. Doing this will mean the company should pay an extraordinary cost for the training of a new candidate, whereas a new candidate may find the job and leave the company after all.

On the other hand, some industries require job applicant with a great personality and full of ideas regardless of their qualification and previous experience, and happy to provide full training and finance their education. The primary reason for this bold choice stems from the fact that the success of these kinds of companies, predominantly companies dealing with marketing and sales, are dependant on candidates personality for their success. For example, generally, a sales and marketing position do not require qualification.

Nevertheless, new candidates with relevant experience and skills will remain as a tangible asset for the company as they can offer flexibility. This factor is crucial during a business restructuration and turbulence periods where candidates flexibility will both benefit employer and employee significantly. Therefore, it can be agreed that human resources personnel should seek candidates with prior experience and qualification.

To conclude, whereas personality may be a considerable factor during the hiring process for some companies, qualification and previous experience remain as vital because it will dictate the candidate's suitability to the job and flexibility during the future contingencies.