Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

To a certain extent, I personally believe that wildlife is on brink of extinction. However, I completely disagree with the idea of wasting resources for wildlife preservation because of its importance for the natural environment and human life.

According to a number of prestigious researches in the world, approximately 60 percent of the global wildlife population was wiped out in less than five decades since 1970. There are two main groups of causes that are responsible for this including both natural causes like appearance of various diseases, disaster, climate change, competitions among other species and man-made causes. Turning to human causes, human beings are over-exploiting natural resources which leads to ecosystem contamination - habitat of wildlife. Another direct ground is, moreover, thriving illegal wildlife hunting and trading. It is known that the blue whale is a case in point. Before the 20th century, blue whales were the largest mammals to have ever existed on our planet. However, the whale species was hunting and killing excessively to support commercial and economic benefits and became endangered in the 1970s.

Nevertheless, I do believe that wild animal conservation is at the heart of our task. Reality illustrates that wildlife maintains the balance of ecosystem and biodiversity. It is necessary to know that threats to species rarely happen in isolation, thus to ensure above-mentioned roles, wildlife must be protected. Besides ecological values, not only wildlife provides nutrient-rich foods for humans but also some precious medicines being prevalent in traditional medicine such as traditional Chinese medicine are derived from animals and its products.

To recapitulate, I would argue that animal spices should be protected from threats and risks because of its vast worth.