Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is it right to excludes males or females from certain professions because of their gender?

Men and women are different in many aspects: physical body, character, interest etc. These differences affect a lot on the professions that males and females choose to do. However, it is not right to exclude people from certain jobs on the basis of gender.

The first reason is modern society gives everyone opportunity to do what they want. In the past, in some countries, women did not receive a good education as men so they did not have the chance to do some professions that required high-level skills and knowledge such as engineer or doctor… But nowadays, educated chances are equal, it is not strange to see female mechanics, female doctors, or even female astronauts. In contrast, we also see excellent male chefs, male fashion stylists and other occupations which are usually thought good fit for women. Thus, it is unfair to reject people for some jobs just because of their sex.

In addition, all the world is making effort to fill the gender gap at work. If we keep thinking that some kinds of jobs are just for men or women, the glass ceiling of gender discrimination will never be disappeared. Instead of rejecting, we should provide good conditions to help everyone reach the equality. For examples, many countries allow girls to join military duty, many companies let women work from home during pregnancy, many organizations offer scholarship for girls to study Math, Physics…

In conclusion, the differences between men and women does not mean they cannot do some certain kinds of job. I believe that along with the development of society, the gender gap will be filled.