You have been offered a job, asking you to start next week. You want the job very much but, because of a previous commitment, you want to delay the start for another two weeks.Write to the Manager, accepting the job, but explaining your situation and aski

I am writing this letter to request you to postpone the joining date for the job that you offered to me. Firstly I am thankful to you for giving me opportunity to work in your company. I always wanted to have this job and I would love to accept your offer with heartfelt gratitude. As stated in the letter, you have intimated me to start the job next week. But I would request you to delay my joining for another two weeks due to reasons mentioned further.

Let me explain my situation. I am currently working in a company and I was not sure whether I will get the appointment in your firm. So, I have not given any notice of leaving the job to my current employer. I need to inform them about two weeks prior according to the company policies. Resigning without earlier notice will make me liable for a penalty and also I do not want to behave against professional ethics. This will not go well my values.