You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic:

There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more important than the International music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

You should write at least 250 words.

Have you ever gone through an entire month or even a week without listening to that favourite song of yours to uplift your spirits, or that tune that lets you relax and forget about your worries? The answer would most probably be no. Music has almost always been an integral parts of our lives and there isn’t a dearth for the types of music in the world today.

This leads us to think why we need music. We have almost always had taken its presence for granted. Reflecting on the need for music has led to several interesting revelations of how human beings function and perceive the world. The most interesting discovery was published in a journal article in the one of the most renowned of scientific publications called Nature. It was the result of a study conducted by the Berklee school of Music in California.

Sounds, especially when organized in different variations of tones within the spectrum of human hearing, with the addition of different textures of sound coming from different instruments or the human vocal chords, which we call music, has a profound impact of different parts of the brain. Each different type of arrangement of the parameters produces a different emotion by activating different parts of human brain and sometimes even by activating different parts of the body. This was proven evidently through magnetic resonance imaging and sensors plugged to subjects that were exposed to music of different types in our laboratories.

Conclusively, the article demonstrated how we need music as a key motivator in our lives and as a means of creative expression to activate our emotions which drive us into action. This is one of the main reasons why we have music. The national pride that anthems inculcate, the feeling of love that romantic songs evoke, the tears that tragic songs bring, or the goosebumps that eerie music produces are all evident on the effect of music on our moods and emotions. Emotions being the ingredient to propel humans into taking action, music is used as the most important tool to proliferate one’s feelings to others.

Music in the early times was almost always local and traditional. It has its roots in the community, large societies or sometimes even an entire country. This kind of music appeals to the audience which belong to group where music originated. And then, later came the international music that is listened to globally and subscribed by all humans irrespective of national boundaries or ethnicities. I believe, that both these types of music are equally essential without one being superior or inferior to the other.

While local music appeals to a community and promotes belongingness and identity to a person with their own kind, international music has the ability to surpass differences between these communities and bring about universally upheld values by humanity. This combination produces a critical balance between knowing where one comes from and embracing the other communities of the world.

While I enjoy every bit of music from my home town in India, I also love the music produced by popular bands such as the Beatles, Michael Jackson and ACDC. This gives me a perspective of other cultures around the world and way to relate to someone that lives several miles apart. This is evident from how I was able to connect with someone in the US while I was travelling, through our common taste in music and love of rock songs. This ability to connect can be seamlessly forged by developing a taste for international music. International music is one of the most common forms of art that two people from anywhere in the world can appreciate and bond over. While having this connect with people around the world, I also comeback to who I am as an individual by listening to music that I love from my hometown. It reinforces a sense of identity and reminds of my roots.

Hence, traditional music and international music are both equally important and ensure there is a balance of ones’ own identity at the same time facilitating the connect between two groups of people from different parts of the world.