You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people believe that there should be fixed punishment for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into

account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

How to punish the lawbreakers is always a difficult topic for the law makers. If circumstances based punishment should be used or each criminal type has its own methods is still in debate. The essay will focus on the pros and cons of each type of punishments and provide the personal opinion for this debate.

On one hand, government could implement a confirmed punishment for each crime such as using a death sentence for a murder or using a capital punishment for corruption etc. This would help people easily to know what they will receive when breaking the laws or committing a crime. Moreover, judgement systems will be quite simple and straightforward since no further investigations might require whenever they know the types of crime. Take shop-lifting is an example. If there is a law that every shop-lifter have to pay back ten times the values which they have stolen and they should been sentenced for several days. In this case, the court time reduces, consequently, it help to save money for operating the law systems. However, this system faces a serious problem by ignoring the fact that each case are not same which probably lead to unfair punishment.

On another hand, authority might implement a law for criminal punishment as individual basis. The certain benefit of this method is it taking consideration of other factors so reduce the unfair judgement and punishment. Let consider a murder case is an example here. In some cases, a murder might be due to the self defense or to protect their family or friends by other criminals. The motivations for these case are understandable and the murder deserve to be forgiven. Therefore, in stead of giving a murder a death sentence as the fixed law, they might have a chance to rehabilitate after a long sentence punishment. Of course, the main drawback for the situation based punishment, is it will take more time to investigate as well as it might required carefully and details investigation

Given the above arguments, I strongly support the flexible punishment idea. This method I believe that will help to better and fairer society and every government should consider them as a base method for judgement.