Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others in the same age This is called peer pressure Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages

It is true that peers exert more influence on the young people as they tend to spend more time with them. I think this inclination of people has both positive and negative impact on the individuals, however I believe it’s benefits are eclipsed by its drawbacks.

There are various advantages to people spending time with the people of their age. The main benefit is that it helps them to prosper in their career. I mean when people try to emulate their friends who are successful, it motivates them to do their best and help them to excel. For example, when students compete with their peers who are exceptional at academics, it helps them to improve their academic credentials. In the same way, they can learn few important life skills such as communication, interpersonal and leadership skills by encouraging each other or by sharing , exchanging their knowledge and views which helps them in dealing with difficult situations in their future. So, this way friends’ company can have a positive impact on the individuals.

However, there are downsides to this habit of people. The gravest problem is sometimes this habit can lead to unwanted desires. Due to the high earning capability some young people tend to spend more money on lavish commodities such as designer wears, state-of the art gadgets and so on. This can entice people with low-income to purchase these products which may eventually make them run into debt. Apparently, another drawback is that young people can resort to malpractices if they spend time with people who has bad habits. For instance, if any of their group member indulge into smoking, then young people might get enticed and try to follow them which could be detrimental to their health.

In conclusion, although this practice seems to have an adverse effect on individuals in certain situations, the encouragement and motivation stem from these habits appears to be more useful as it help individuals to grow and develop.