In some countries, most people prefer to rent their homes rather than buying them. What are some of the advantages and disadvantages of renting homes?

It is often considered by some people that staying for rent is better than buying a home especially, in urban areas. Rented home is advantageous in terms of cost, flexibility and maintenance whereas owned house gives you a feel of home and provides financial security after retirement.

One of the evident benefits to renting a home is it is economical. Tenants no need to take the burden of heavy mortgage loans and interest and can instead invest in other savings. Another point to consider is that people whilst staying in the house, does not need to spend money on its repairing and renovations as landlord will be responsible for the maintenance. Wall paintings, bathroom fittings are some household things that must be maintained. Another advantage is that people can shift to other locations easily, if needed, which would be a tedious task in the case of own house. For instance, if people get transferred to another place or they want to downsize because of the financial issues, they can relocate without worrying about the house.

Obviously, there are some downsides to renting home. Firstly, in rented house we will not be able to decorate house as per our taste hence, this may not give the feel of home whereas owned house can be designed according to our interest which provides a sense of satisfaction and peaceful feeling. Secondly, although people must pay loan every month, it is considered as a kind of investment for their future as house can be an asset in their retired time. While it is not the same in the case of renting, as the monthly paid rent will not be returned.

In conclusion, rented house and owned house have their own merits and demerits, it is based-on people choice and requirement which one to be opted.