1 Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

People should state their honest opinions even though they know others will disagree with their views. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

In today's modern life, expressing our honest opinion about different matters is a priority when considering its significant effect on our lives in many aspects. In this regard, many would rather have a group acceptance than say their honest feeling and opinion and jeopardize their approval in a group. I, though, hold the opposite view for some reason, on which I will elaborate in the following essay.

First, expressing our genuine opinion without being worried about others’ reactions can make us more confident. In general, for giving our real view in the first step, we need to excavate our feelings and realize our genuine intention for an issue, and in the next step, we have to find the courage to express them. By doing so, we send this message that we care about our wants and willing even if they are not going to be accepted and respected by others. Consequently, by repeating that manner even if we had pretended for a couple of times, we will gradually come to believe that we respect ourselves, which will result in increasing our confidence.

Furthermore, saying our honest opinion could allow us to establish stronger connections and build better friendships. Mostly, we expect our friends to be frank with us; in fact, we can trust them much better if we are sure that they act genuinely in most cases, and the consequence of their different but real opinion does not matter to them. For example, when I was 18, I was blindly in love with a boy that I could not see any of his faults in our relationship, and any time I blamed myself for anything that was going wrong. One of my friends continually was telling me that I was making many mistakes in case of him, but I accused her of being jealous of me. A few months later, when he cheated on me and left me high and dry, I began to realize that how right she was about most of the things, and from that time, I knew that she is the most credible person in my life to count on her in my issues even if I did not like her opinions.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, expressing our genuine opinion about different matters in different cases not only help us to be more confident but also can provide us with real and safe relationships, in which each of the peers trusts each other, and care about the consequences of their words for one another.