Imagine that you are going to visit a new city, which one of the following ways do you think is the best way to know the city in a short time?

• Visit historic sites

• Go to shops and markets

• Enjoy the restaurant and spend time in café

In today’s modern life, knowing people of a different culture is a priority when considering the importance of its on the future of the world, that requires all of us be more aware of what is going on around us in order to be able to make the world a better place for living and communicating. In this regard, many believe that visiting historic sites of a new city can provide us with the most possible information about the culture of that society, while other believes that attending at shopping centers is a better way. Being at restaurants and café is also another choice. I, personally, hold the view of the second group for a couple of reasons, on which I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, attending in shops and markets will provide us with a lot of information about society member’s priorities in their life. In fact, glancing at what the stores are filled by, we can easily understand what is defined as a priority in their society. For example, in a society that the majority of its members spend their money on cloths, and to be more specific, on which that make them superficially more credible, it is perceptible that appearance matters a lot to them. In contrast, in a society that intellectual issues are their main concerns, they probably spend their most money on books, that bring them knowledge in their life. As a result, having carefully observed what their stores are filled with, and what they tend to buy most, enables us to know the priority of society members very well.

Furthermore, being on markets also informs us about the relations of society members. In fact, individuals prefer to be accompanied for their shopping’s with the one who is in charge of their expenses, or who is their close friend. So, by looking at who are they with, we can understand that who they prefer to communicate. To be more specific, in a society that majority of them do their stoppings with their family members, it can be implied that they have close relations with their family members, and in fact, family is a important element of that society. On the other hand, in a society that people are in markets with their friends or even they are alone, it is comprehensible that being independent is a important factor in that society.

In conclusion, with all this taken into account, attending in bazaars and observing people in that environment, not only can we understand what is trend and priority in that society, but also we can be informed of how their relationships are established.