12-2- Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? People would be happier with fewer possessions.

It is no secret that money and assets have played pivotal roles in various aspects of human life, especially nowadays. To answer the question, it is required to evaluate reasoning adopted by proponents and opponents of the idea of whether people need money to be happy, content and satisfied or not. Some people may hold the view that we would be happier if we had fewer possessions. Notwithstanding, I firmly disagree with the statement and believe we will not feel better if we have less money or assets. In the following essay, I am going to elaborate upon my two convincing reasons and support my claim.

First of all, people will not be happier with fewer possessions because poverty is very painful, and deprived people suffer from this issue in today’s world. Numerous native African people fight for food and minimum requirements of living and they are not happy that they do not have money to cover their expenses or buy what they require. As a recent study carried out in my city, Madrid, indicates, it has been investigated that around 83 percent of poor people, ages 7 to 45, feel miserable when they do not have money at all. This study demonstrates that there is a logical correlation between having money and feeling satisfied with their lives.

My second noteworthy reason is that we do not feel happy with fewer possessions since sometimes we would feel like buying something attracted us to itself. Imagine that money is tight, and you want to buy an unnecessary commodity like toys for your children. What would you feel if you promised your children to buy those toys for them? Were I in that situation, I would feel embarrassed and try to buy the toys as soon as possible. As a case in point, one of my distant cousins had a very terrible financial situation 5 years ago. He had to sell his car to cover the expenses of his daughter’s birthday not to become embarrassed in front of his family. I remember vividly that he was disappointed because he had no choices but to sell his car. Had he had enough money, He would not have had to sell his car and would have become happier in that situation.

To distill my writing into one sentence, I profoundly disagree with the statement that we would feel happier with fewer assets because first, poverty and being deprived of first needs of human life is so harsh; second, sometimes we require money to have fun and without money, we are not able to do that. It is vital that we be aware of money and our possessions or assets.