A/D it is more important for government to spend money on improving internet access than on public transportation.

It is no doubt that government cares about its people and is eager to improve the quality of people’s life. However, whether improving internet access is more important than improving public transportation is a long-standing controversial issue. For me, I agree that spending money on making internet access better is more important, considering government has limited budget, emphasizes the efficiency, and should spend it on programs could benefit most people.

First of all, government has budget concern and building internet access spends less money. For example, government needs only to build a solid concrete house that can protect the machines sending the internet signals and maintain them. Nevertheless, to build public transportations, government has to hire many construction companies and workers and buy different types of trains or cars. Not to mention, those facilities must be maintained very closely so that people could use them safely, and it costs another great deal of money. Obviously, with the budget concern, building internet access is more important for government to do.

Secondly, government puts emphasis on efficiency when spending money and improving the internet access would be more efficient than building public transportation. To illustrate, to build better internet accesses, government only needs to create enough and solid stations that can receive and distribute the Internet signal. Those facilitates could be set up over a night and work well soon after they are activated. However, improving transportation system could take long time and what’s worse, still could not work. For example, deciding where to build or improve the transportation systems takes a while because people everywhere would hope they are the first ones who could have the facilities. Even after the facilities are built, different companies running the train or metro systems spend time to negotiate how to make different systems work together, as we can tell from the experiences from many countries. As a result, building internet access is much more efficient.

Still, some people argue that the internet is not as necessary as transportation systems is. However, considering which project could benefit more people, my point still stands. In other words, improving internet access could benefit most people whereas improving public transportation could not. To be more specific, nowadays everyone has mobile phone or computer. That is, every people could take advantage of the Internet using their devises. On the contrary, public transportation benefits mainly people who don’t drive. Besides, the transportation system cannot reach everywhere in a country. For instance, people living in countryside have no way to use the public transportation. Consequently, government should spend money on making internet access better because it benefits more people.

All in all, I hold the view that improving internet access is more important for government. Not only because it helps government save money, but also because it benefit most people. Besides, it is a more efficient work for government to do.