Agree or disagree: Instead of asking college students to pay their tuition immediately for education, they should be allowed to pay for it at a set percentage out of their salary after they graduate.

When it comes to whether college students should be allowed to pay their tuition after they graduate, some people might think that students should have the money ready in advance in advance if they desire to go for such hight education. Others may claim that college students ought to be allowed to pay for it with a certain percentage of their salary from their future employment. From my perspective, I stand with the latter for the following reasons.

First of all, paying tuition later allows college students to spend more time on their academic studies. When students graduate from high school, most of them are not financially supported by their parents. Namely, they need to make a living by doing part-time jobs in addition to their heavy workload from school. In order to feed themselves and afford tuition as well, college students are obliged to earn extra money in their free time. They originally can make use of their precious leisure time in the pursuit of their interests or majors for better achievement. If college students do not need to be anxious about paying their tuition, they can totally be absorbed in their study and spend more time in the laboratory or library to pore over their studies. Without having to spare time out for doing part-time jobs, they can spend their valuable time in their academic studies, and be better equipped with the necessary expertise or professional knowledge to land themselves a better job in society.

Besides, if college students are allowed to pay their tuition later after they graduate, it will tremendously increase incentives for colleges to help students launch successfully into their careers. Nowadays, it is widely considered that what is taught at school is overly academic and theoretical. As a result, students often have trouble locating a job after they graduate from school. If this scheme of tuition system can be permitted, schools will also take students’ employment into consideration by designing courses that are more practical to assist students to land a job easier. It is highly instrumental for both students and universities by striking a balance on the theoretical and pragmatic section of higher education.

Coins have two sides, so is this tuition issue. Irrefutably, some people might still argue that, if college students are allowed to pay the fee later in a job, many of them may just procrastinate searching for a job because they tend to stay in their comfort zone. This is not promising at all for young students as well as for the government. However, everything is a trade-off in reality and it is impossible to reach a universal consensus regarding what is appropriate and what is not. We, after all, should grasp any opportunity to receive higher education for a try in life. Only by allowing students to pay the tuition later when they have a job can more students from different backgrounds receive higher education.