Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Nowadays, it is easier for people to maintain good health than those living in the past. Use specific examples to support your answer.

When it comes to the question whether it is easier for today’s people to maintain good health than those living in the past, the answers differ considerably from individual to individual. Some people may claim that it is reasonable because of better hygiene conditions in modern society, while others hold an opposite view. From my perspective, I stand with the latter.

First of all, people living in the past usually ate unprocessed foods. In the old days, the majority of people lived by cultivating crops and vegetables on their own, so they were able to get fresh food more easily than modern people. People in the past usually ate exactly what they planted or foods exchanged from their neighborhoods. There was no or at least little processed food in their life. For example, in an agricultural society as my grandmother used to live in her childhood, it was more facile for people to get natural food such as vegetables harvested straight from their own farm. By contrast, individuals in modern cities spend a lot of their mealtime eating outside, which makes them have trouble keeping a balanced diet. They can hardly receive enough fresh food, and consequently, cannot get sufficient nutrients they need; that may lead them to poor health conditions. That is, modern people are less likely to maintain their health due to their unhealthy lifestyle.

Besides, many modern people keep bad habits in life. With the change of human society from an agricultural-based one to an industrial and commercial one, people’s lifestyle also greatly changed. Because of the change in the working pattern in recent days, individuals nowadays are used to several unhealthy habits, such as staying up late, consistently eating junk food, and doing exercise less than before. A hectic and stressful lifestyle that is widely adopted by modern people leads to a consequence that diseases of civilization including cancers, diabetes, and obesity occur more frequently and even pop out at a rising rate. As a result, people nowadays can hardly develop healthy habits because of health-damaging habits.

Admittedly, some people might argue that people today have a better health condition than before because of advanced medical technologies and more accessible information for people who long to become healthier. However, there are truly more and more people suffering from chronic diseases in recent days. In spite of getting more accurate information than people in the past, individuals nowadays are still having trouble keeping their bodies in good condition. Therefore, I firmly believe that it will not be easier for people nowadays to maintain full health than the ancient.