Agree or disagree: It is as important for old people to study and learn new things as it is for young people.

The science and technology, in many ways, has shaped the world we live in and continues to bring new things to our daily lives. Nowadays, some people consider it important for aged people to learn new things like young people do. I, however, think it an exaggeration. Old people should have different strategies when facing different situations, and it is impossible and not necessary to learn the same new things as young people do.

The technology continues to bring updated and renewed knowledge to our lives, which are necessary for young people to gain opportunities to get promoted, but these chance is not important and necessary for aged people. Old people no longer work at office any more, and what they really want to do after retirement is to enjoy their leisure with family members or old friends. Preparing food for their children and grandchildren, going vacation with old friends, or cultivating flowers at their gardens are their favorites. Since they have little ambition for their careers, they have no need to bother themselves to learning those new knowledge. Thus, new professional and specific things is less important and there are many other things deserving to do for the old.

On the contrary, learning practical skills in this modern society could make old people's live much easier. The Internet have made our life much more convenient than before, allowing us to shop or chat with each other no matter wherever we are. My grandfather here is a good case in point. Although nearly 75 years old, he is still able to use smart phones, to surf on the Internet, and he even goes shopping online more frequently than my father does. He always tells me that he never image that our live could become so convenient and he have to learn these skills to keep pace with the society, if not, he is unlikely enjoy the advantages that technology has brought to us.

Even if it seems that we should keep pace with the changes of our society, but for aged people, the situation would be different. Skills, which contributes to our convenient life style, are necessary to be grasped to enjoy the modern life, but there is no need for them to "waste" their time on specific and professional knowledge and skills.