Agree or disagree: It is more important for the government to spend money on art museums and concert halls than on recreational facilities such as swimming pools and playgrounds.

People often possess different perspectives on what is more important for the government to spend money on. While some believe that art museums and concerts are important, others argue that building recreational facilities such as swimming pools and playgrounds is more important. Based on my personal experiences and observation of my life, I think spending money on recreational facilities is more important.

First of all, governments care about the budget, and building playgrounds can save money. For example, (1)the local government of Hsinchu city has built 100 playgrounds. (2a)It only costs 100,000 US dollars to build all these playgrounds. Besides, (2b)the government only has to maintain the facility once a year. As a result, (3)building the playground costs little money for the government. However, (4)if the government decided to build a concert hall, (5)it would cost more than 2000,000 US dollars. Apparently, (6)the government would spend a lot of money on it.

Secondly, governments need to care about citizens' needs, and spending more money on recreational facilities will fulfill citizens' requirements. For instance,(1) when Taipei city built a new public swimming pool for their citizens,(2) a lot of people went to the station with their family because they wanted to keep in good shape. Therefore, (3)the swimming pool really meets citizens' needs. In contrast,(4) if the government spent money on the museum, (5)it would be criticized by citizens, because it requires a large amount of money to build and only few people want to see art work. (6) Thus, the citizens would not be satisfied by the decision.

Last but not least, governments require a reputation, and building recreational facilities can build up their reputation. For example,(1) after Hsinchu city built a lot of playgrounds, (2a)people who have kids liked to bring their children to the place. Under this circumstance, many parents could relax since they would not have to take care of their children.As a result, the government was praised by the citizens.

In conclusion,after taking all the factors into account. I strongly argue that it is more important for the government to spend money on recreational facilities.