Agree or disagree?

Nowadays it is not important for people to have regularly family meals together.

In the 21st century, there has been a dramatic improvement in diverse aspects of people’s lives. However, people are becoming increasingly busy and sometimes are overwhelmed by endless work or study. As a result, less time is devoted to families and people no longer have meals regularly with family members. In my opinion, this is totally mistaken and it is significant for people to eat with family members regularly despite the change of time. My reasons are as follows.

To begin with, for parents, having regular meals with children can promote the parental relationship. Due to people’s busy daily schedules, parents and children tend to have less conversation nowadays. Children spend most of their time learning in school and playing with peers; adults are occupied with their work and socializing with colleagues. The importance of having family meals is ignored. People forget that time spends at the table can be meaningful. For example, parents can discover the problems that their children struggle with. They can provide guidance or inspire children to find out a solution by giving them some nice tips. In this way, children can feel the care and love from parents and parents can know about children’s thoughts. It brings mutual benefits.

In addition, for couples, having regular meals can strengthen partners’ relationship. Common sense tells us that as time goes by, the passion between lovers decreases. The lack of communication can also result in marriage problems or even serious crises. By spending some quality time with our beloved companion at the meal table we can listen and understand each other better. Ensuring at least one meal with our partners a day shows one’s care and how much we value the other person in spite of the busy schedule. Willing to make time for someone is a great way to demonstrate love.

Lastly, for children, it is of great significance to have regular meals with our aging parents. Young people today are busy with their own work and personal life and they often neglect the feelings of the elders. Some may give money regularly to the elder instead of going home to accompany them because they think financial means is a good way to show their love and care. However, according to a survey conducted by Beijing Normal University, after polling tens of thousands of old people, the top priority of their wishes is expecting their sons and daughters to go home regularly and have regular meals with them. The survey also indicates that the elders who are regularly accompanied by their family members tend to live longer and happier.

All in all, considering the essential role that regular eating with families plays on children, companion, and the elder, I insist that it is still of great importance for people to eat with families regularly nowadays.