Do you agree or disagree: It is impossible to always be completely honest with your friends?

Although a vast majority of people agree that how to choose right friends and build healthy relationships with them is especially important, they are split in their opinions over what is the most important consideration in a friendship. Among all the possible considerations, always telling the truth is taken into account by not a few people. Then, is it possible to be always completely honest with your friends? The answer is, as far as I am concerned, surely in the affirmative.

It is true that being completely honest might hurt our friend's feelings. Take a frequently-occurred situation as an example. Alvin's friend Kikyou, who buys a new outfit for a birthday party, asks him, "Does it look good on me?" Alvin, based on the fact, says, "No way! It makes you look ten pounds heavier." Upon hearing his answer, Kikyou may return him with a hostile glare. Indeed, these truthful words, to a large extent, are not pleasing to a friend's ears, though they might be said with the best intentions. Nevertheless, a true friend is willing to tell us the truth, no matter what. And if we get irritated or even indignant, we do not really respect him or her and treat him or her as a true friend. Moreover, a true friend, knowing we might not be so comfortable with negative comments, would certainly choose to answer in a gentle but not brutal way. Alvin would say he is partial to the one Kikyou wore yesterday to show his unfavorable view of that outfit.

Most importantly, friendships, especially long-term ones, are not built in one day. Regular flattery or flat-out lies may help us forge new friendships or even maintain those relationships for a period of time, yet only by being completely honest to those we feel and care will the friendship stand the test of time and stay stable for a sizable chunk of life, or even for our whole life. This is because complete honesty can build up mutual trust between friends. As long as trust keeps a constant presence, misunderstandings or obstacles to any friendship can be avoided and removed if occurring.

In conclusion, I disagree with the statement, and I highly recommend that everyone should have the courage to blurt out any truthful words. Just make sure to respond without jealousy or anger.