Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship.

There are certain factors people take into consideration in any healthy relationship. People might look for honesty, altruism, loyalty, compatibility, dependency. Anyone who wishes to be in relationship looks for the above-mentioned qualities or combination of such good traits. What quality one particular individual would take into account is a subjective and relative matter.

Although I would love to have qualities like altruism, compatibility in person I am dealing with, I would consider being honest as the most important factor in my relationship. Opposite of this is lying and if someone lies she is either hiding something from me or afraid of telling me the truth.

In any relationship of mine, the person I am dealing with must be honest. Even if she does something wrong that I would not like, she would better confess and do not lie about it. If I find out the truth from some other person then it would be much more unpleasant. I would prefer to listen to the unpleasant truth from the person I am in a relationship with rather from some third person. In that case, how can I trust that person again? How can I ever believe that she has enough confidence in me to forgive her and can carry the relationship from there? I could not trust the person anymore if the person I am dealing with thinks I can’t handle the truth. So, there is no point in continuing the relationship further.

I would love to see the person to be understanding, thoughtful, loyal and altruist, but an instance of opposite of these behaviors would not hurt me as much as dishonestly would. For me, dishonesty is the ultimate factor in not to rely on that person. Therefore honesty would be my first concern and the most important consideration in a relationship.