Some young adults want independence from their parents as soon as possible. Other young adults prefer to live with their families for a longer time. Which of these situations do you think is better? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Becoming an adult is a really special time in anybody’s life and the call to head out into the world and embrace our independence is, for many people, quite powerful. I think this can depend on a lot of different factors; for example, somebody starting a job might have different needs and priorities compared to a person who intends to go on and study at university. Generally speaking, I believe that it is better for all concerned young adults, continue to live with their families for a longer time, particularly if they are going to be studying at university or something similar.

First of all, it’s important to consider finances. Certainly, it is possible for some young adults to get work and support themselves relatively quickly. However, in most part of the world these days it costs a lot to rent a house, attend university, buy a car or purchase things like health insurance. By way of example, I can recall trying to live independently outside the family home as a university student and I constantly struggled to pay the bills and meet all the other costs of living as a young adult. This, in turn, had an adverse effect on things like my study performance.

Hence, in addition to the importance of finances, I think this is better for a young adult’s study potential. With your family’s support, it is a lot easier to focus on your studies. Of course, for some people in some situation, the family situation may actually be quite distracting or stressful. However, I think it would be fair to say that(for most people) you are likely to eat better meals, have a quiet place to study and do school work and get a decent night sleep if you happen to be living in the family home. I can recall my friend from my university days who lived in a shared house with other students. Life was a party for him but he didn’t eat or study well and inevitably his grades suffered. He had to repeat several subjects and finished his degree later that many of his peers.

Finally, staying at home one’s parents doesn’t mean necessarily mean that a young adult can’t develop independence. I will be the first to admit that there are parents out there who struggle to acknowledge that their children have grown up and deserved treatment as an adult; it’s instinctive of them to continue to play a mothering role that can actually be quite stifling for a young adult. Despite this possibility, even though I spent most of my university days living with my parents, they respected me as an adult as well as their child and they didn’t attempt to interfere too much or limit my independence. I think this is the case for many other your people as well, so I don’t think it is necessarily fair to claim that, just because someone is lining with family, they are somehow unable to enjoy benefits of independence. In fact, I believe the safe environment of family abode is a good place to handle the transition to adulthood for all concerned, both the child and the parents.

By way of conclusion, based on the argument explored, I’m of the opinion that in most cases it’s actually more beneficial for most adults to continue living with their families for a longer period of time. Families are precious things and an essential part of the fabric of the nurturing society, So I have strong believe that they can be a powerful guide in helping children negotiate the path to independence.