In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Is it true that beginners are more likely to contribute than experts in any field of inquiry? To answer this question, one has to consider the fact that most fields require deep knowledge before even making the slightest innovative contribution to it. In my opinion, expertise is a must thing to have in any area to add something meaningful to the same.

First of all, there are so many professions including politicians, judges, scientists, businessmen, etc. that require profound knowledge to take effective actions that are not biased towards any group of society. It takes years of study and intense reading of materials to acquire the information required to make an impartial judgment in a courtroom. Similarly, in politics, one must have good enough experience in public service to even figure out what exactly the issues plaguing society, let alone find solutions to them. The same goes for the profession of teachers, they need to develop various teaching techniques for different characteristics of their students in order to make them truly learned.

Moreover, contributing to the field of science includes the capability of doing research in one way or the other. Now, to do research one needs to know about the important findings in that area which requires years of study. For instance, scientists like Sir Isaac Newton, Stephen Hawking, and Albert Einstein who were able to achieve ground-breaking discoveries in the field of physics devoted their entire life studying the mysteries that baffled humanity for years. As a result, they were able to develop theories of their own solving the long-standing problems of physics. Artists like painters and musicians also have to practice their respective arts for years which finally allows them to make masterpieces in the future.

Some may argue that, over time experts tend to become biased in their opinion, and may miss out on some facts or ideas. Surely, beginners can help with their radical thinking and new ideas in such situations to point out the missing links. However, one should not forget that a novice in all these fields would rarely be able to contribute something meaningful individually without any guidance from an expert.

To sum up, it is totally indefensible to say that beginners are more likely to contribute better than experts in any field of study. Although it is true that a novice can bring new ideas to the field, there will be a need for an expert to search through the development made in the field so far and find out new areas of improvement.