There are times when it is acceptable not to tell the truth.

Being honest, frank, and direct in dealing with things can be considered good most of the time. In fact, some people believe that it is better to always tell the truth regardless of the situation. However, in my opinion, there are certain times when it is perfectly reasonable not to tell the truth. I feel this way for several reasons which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, one doesn't have to look too far to realize the situation in which someone's safety is on the line. I believe that a lie told to protect an innocent person is acceptable. Perhaps the lie is told for some good cause. For instance, take an example when two of your friends or colleagues have been in a verbal dispute. Now, you may have talked to both of them and listened to the things about the other person that might be offensive. In such cases, it is fine or rather a good judgment not to tell them about the acerbic comments they passed on to each other. If such minor disputes can be avoided by telling a white lie, it is viable to do so. Sometimes concealing the truth becomes necessary for our own good. Take, for example, one of your friends asks you about their new hairstyle, or a dress maybe. Now, you may think that it looks awful. However, it is better for you to say it looks amazing if you know that telling that truth may ruin your relations with the person.

Secondly, government officials cannot always be frank with the general populace. For example, when there are riots happening in some part of the country, the government may decide to cut the internet and other media channels in that area to prevent the news from spreading to other parts of the nation. Moreover, consider a situation of war. Government officials and agencies will most likely choose to keep their defense strategies and weapons secret. Being so honest in this case may lead to the leak of some important information to the rival country. The nation may choose not to disclose the sites where the nuclear warheads are stored. Terrorist organizations may get their hands on such data if made open to the public, and one can only imagine the consequences that the world would have to face then.

Some may argue that being truthful and honest may have some short-term disadvantages, but always leads to long-term benefits. Admittedly, there are many more cases comparatively where one will have to be honest to avoid getting caught in a chain of lies later on. However, considering the scenarios I have discussed above, it is actually good to deliberately hide the truth sometimes for the better good of everyone involved.

To sum up, it is indefensible to say that one has to tell the truth no matter what the situation is. Keeping in mind the cases I have presented, one can easily fathom the fact that a lie spoken to avoid disputes and have mental peace is not so bad after all.