Caring for a pet is the best way for a child to learn responsibility.

While some people think that is it too difficult for young children to raise pets, others are skeptical of this viewpoint and suggest that letting children take care of their own pets will teach them valuable lessons. After taking into account both arguments above, the latter opinion seems more preferable. There are two reasons that could validate this.

To begin with, taking care of pets enables children to learn consequences of their actions. To be specific, it will teach the young the value of life and they are responsible for things that you did. Some may say that since children are immature and don’t know how to care little creatures, this duty will only make them stressful and confusing. Nevertheless, their allegation is nothing less than an obstacle that children should overcome in order to become mature. For example, when I was 12 years old, I was a naïve girl who was coddled by my parents. Even though I made a mistake, be it small or big, my parents always told me that it wasn’t my fault. I took it for granted and never felt the pressure of responsibility. However, things got changed when a puppy came to my home as my birthday present. I really loved him and we spend all day together. One day, I accidentally gave him a chocolate. I did not know that it was harmful. As a consequence of my ignorance, he died. From that moment, I learned that responsibility always follow behind my actions. And this cannot be shared or undertaken by other even they are my parents. I understood that my actions affect the well-being of pets and became more responsible. This incident has colored my whole life and the value of life is still carved in my heart deeply.

Furthermore, raising pets may teach time management to children. In other words, pets need a lot of attention on a regular basis. For instance, there was striking changes in my 8 years old cousin Sarah’s personality over raising pets. To briefly illustrate her previous personality, she was pretty spontaneous and disorganized. However, when she started to raise her own dog there are lots of thing to do by herself. She was responsible for feeding, walking, and grooming. Although she had been doing her work extemporaneously, because of her pet, she needed to make and follow daily schedule. Since she was young most of tasks required her parent’s supervision or aid. Nevertheless, the lesson she learned from this experience is not mere ways to doing chores but ways of managing her time. She acquired skills to wrote to-do list organized according to the priority of each task. Moreover, her time management skill was not restricted to the field of raising pet. She applied it into the field of academics. She even told me that her experience in childhood was really helpful for her to be organized and scheduled that now she does not need to be rushed to finish her assignment before the deadline.

In light of what has been argued thus far, caring for a pet is helpful for children to learn responsibility. This is not only because children may learn consequences of their action but also because they will be able to manage their time properly.