Topic: People in the past ate better food for their health than they do nowadays.

It is an undeniable fact that the quality of the food we eat plays a crucial role in our lives. Eating healthy food is a must for being healthy and as a result having a favorable life. However, there are differing opinions on whether foods we eat nowadays are healthful enough or not. Although some might say that the foods we eat now are much healthful, people in the past ate better food for their health than they do nowadays. There are two reasons: foods were more organic in the past and people’s values and habits have been changed over time.

First of all, the foods which people in past ate are more healthful than those of now. Because foods in the past are purely organic. They had grown without any additives such as pesticides or chemical fertilizers. Instead, people use eco-friendly agricultural methods like animal dung. Therefore, people did not have to worry about toxic chemicals on the skin of crops to be taken inside of our body and cause health problems. On top of that, with advanced science and technology, genetically modified foods gradually threaten our health. These days, it is even harder to find food that is not completely genetically modified. Whether you have noticed or not, 90% of foods in the refrigerator in your house are at least partially genetically modified. GM foods indeed have some advantages such as enriched vitamins in fruits and a reduced amount of pesticides required in the growing process. However, still, there are significant worrisome issues in GM foods. Since they are genetically modified, some of the genes used in GM technology might be taken from a food that causes allergies in some people. Also, given that some GM foods are modified using bacteria or viruses, there is a possibility of the emergence of new diseases.

On top of that, people in the present are too busy. The Standard of living in the past was simply to survive due to lacked health care services and strict caste systems. Most of the people focused only on their basic needs, not trying to overcome their social status because a limited population could succeed at that time. Therefore, food was one of the most important requirements in one’s life. On the other hand, in modern society, people’s value has reshaped leading to change their habits. In a materialistic society, one’s success becomes a great value. This makes people schedule their daily routine based on their tasks, ignoring their one out of three meals a day. For example, for Asian students, it is common for them to make do with fast food or skip meals because they are in a hurry to go to academies right after their school finishes. Because even an ordinary man ate five to six meals a day in the Song Dynasty, people in this day intake considerably insufficient nutrients.

As aforementioned, people in the past ate better food for their health than they do nowadays. Because the food itself is more healthful in the past and people are so busy now that they can not even have proper meals.