Topic: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? It is better for young people to select a job in the same field as their parents than to choose a different career for themselves.

Some people think that it is preferable for young people to choose a different type of job than their parents did. However, in my opinion, people have more advantages if they work in the same field as their parents since they can get more helpful advice from their parents and they can utilize their parents’ professional contacts.

To begin with, young people can receive helpful advice from their parents when they face up with some difficulties that they have never experienced before. Because both of their jobs are in the same field, parents must have experienced the same challenges, which their son or daughter experiencing now, when they were a novice twenty years ago. Therefore, with their work experience, they can provide valuable tips and directions to their children. For example, one of my friends who is a teacher now, got advisable tips from their parents. At the first time when she became a teacher, every single task is overwhelming to her. Among the things, she suffered from controlling her naughty students the most. Then, her parents suggested that she make a strict rule and enforce it consistently, and she embraced it right away. As a result, her students’ behavior improved a lot and she could solve the problem quickly.

On top of that, young people can make use of their parents’ professional connections in their business. They can utilize their parents’ work-related contacts to form a business partnership. Take the example of Bill Gates, he could make his first noteworthy success which was to make business cooperation with IBM. IBM hired his company, Microsoft, to develop software for IBM’s computer. Thanks to his mother, Bill Gates could get this huge opportunity. Because his mother has professional connections to one of the directors in IBM, she recommends his son’s company to a broad member of IBM.

To sum up, it is preferable for young people to select a job in the same field as their parents, because they are able to not only get useful guidelines but also get professional connections. In this regard, I propose that young people choose occupation in the same field as their parents.